International Research Training Group 2150

The Neuroscience of Modulating Aggression and Impulsivity in Psychopathology

8th S P R I N G    S C H O O L

June 5 – 8, 2024

Dear students and colleagues,

It is with both excitement and a touch of melancholy that we invite you to the 8th annual and final Spring School of the International Research Training Group (IRTG) 2150, dedicated to “The Neuroscience of Modulating Aggression and Impulsivity in Psychopathology.” This year, as in many years before, we enjoy the hospitality of our colleagues and friends at University of Pennsylvania and enjoy for the last time, the vibrant and historic city of Philadelphia. Here, special and cordial thanks to Raquel and Ruben Gur, our hosts and Stace Moore, who supported the organization of the IRTG over the last years with incredible engagement.

We are pleased to announce an exceptional lineup of keynote speakers, including professors Klaus Mathiak from RWTH Aachen University, Joseph W. Kable and Rebecca Waller from the University of Pennsylvania. These distinguished scholars will share their deep knowledge and pioneering research, significantly enriching our program.

In addition to our esteemed keynote speakers, we are excited to feature talks by Sara Boccadoro, a former IRTG student, start-up grant awardee and current postdoctoral researcher as well as many of our doctoral researchers, with the majority of them in their final throes of their thesis.

Over the years, the Spring School has been a tremendous success, fostering numerous meetings, scientific exchanges, and collaborations among doctoral researchers and professors. This final gathering is not only an opportunity to explore the latest advancements in neuroscience of aggression and related fields but also to celebrate the enduring impacts of our collaborative efforts.

We are deeply grateful to the German Research Foundation (DFG) and all participating institutions, including RWTH Aachen University and the University of Pennsylvania, for their unwavering support. We also extend our appreciation to all speakers, the organizing team, and participants who have contributed to the success of our past events. We hope this IRTG not only fostered careers and built up collaborations but also contributed to advancements in the field to the final benefit of our patients.

We eagerly anticipate your arrival in Philadelphia and are looking forward to creating lasting memories and impactful learning experiences at this culminating Spring School.

Warmest regards,

Ruben C. Gur and Ute Habel

Wednesday, June 5

09.00 am – 09.15 am Morning coffee

09.15 am – 09.30 am Welcome and opening

09.30 am – 10.30 am Session 1

10.30 am – 10.45 am Break

10.45 am – 11.45 am Keynote lecture: Joseph W. Kable

11.45 am – 12.00 pm Photo session

12.00 pm – 01.00 pm Lunch break

01.00 pm – 01.45 pm Student thesis committee meetings

01.45 pm – 02.30 pm Student thesis committee meetings

05.00 pm Welcome reception and dinner

Thursday, June 6

09.30 am – 10.45 am Session 2

10.45 am – 11.00 am Break

11.00 am – 12.00 am Keynote lecture: Rebecca Waller

12.00 am – 01.00 pm Lunch break

01.00 pm – 02.00 pm Session 3

02.00 pm – 02.45 pm Student thesis committee meetings

02.45 pm – 03.30 pm Student thesis committee meetings

06.00 pm Students’ evening and PI dinner

08.00 pm City tour

Friday, June 7

09.00 am – 10.15 am Session 4

10.15 am – 10.30 am Break

10.30 am – 11.30 am Keynote lecture: Klaus Mathiak

11.30 am – 11.45 am Break (IRTG Board Meeting)

11.45 am – 12.15 am Start-up grant awardee: Sara Boccadoro

12.15 pm – 01.15 pm Lunch break

01.15 pm – 02.00 pm Student thesis committee meetings

06.00 pm Farewell dinner

Saturday, June 8

09.00 am – 09.30 am Supervisors’ meeting

09.30 am – 11.15 am Session 5

11.15 am – 11.30 am Final remarks

11.30 am Departure